2019 Award Recommendations



Lodge Executive Committee,

Throughout 2019, Kanwa tho Lodge has had many things to be proud of. We’ve provided unparalleled service to our camps and council events, built lodge unity through our activities, and done this while having a lot of fun. There is so much we have accomplished as a team, it is now time to consider and honor personal efforts.
This year, the Key 3 would like to solicit recommendation for awards from you. As a member of the lodge executive committee (LEC) you are uniquely qualified to offer personal insight into who should be awarded some of the lodge awards. You are the ones who lead or mentor our lodge at the highest level and are the “eyes and ears” of our organization. As such, there are three awards we would like you to consider:

Founder's Award

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder's Award recognizes Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates that he or she personifies the spirit of selfless service, as advocated by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

James E. West Fellowship

James E. West was the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America. He served in that position for more than three decades. Our lodge typically make a gift or two on behalf of a lodge member who has given great service to Scouting.

National Endowment

A new award for our lodge in 2018, the National OA Endowment was formed more than 30 years ago as a means for the Order of the Arrow to fund scholarships and special programs. The Legacy Fellowship is the first opportunity for Order of the Arrow members to make a direct contribution to the national OA endowment, furthering their support of Scouting. The national OA endowment provides direct funding of the lodge service grants, Josh R. Sain Memorial Scholarships, OA high adventure, major conservation projects like ArrowCorps and Summit Corps and continued support of youth leaders. Membership in the Legacy Fellowship is open to any currently registered youth or adult Scouter who has been recognized as a James E. West Fellow. This award may or may not be bestowed by the lodge each year.
For the full list of previous award recipients from Kanwa tho Lodge, you can click here.
We recognize that this is not an all-inclusive list going back further than our lodge creation so if you feel a person is deserving, and are unsure, feel free to make a recommendation and the Key 3 will confirm receipt prior to the awards banquet.
Please make all submissions by Sunday, November 17 at 11:59 p.m. and if you have any issues with the Google form, feel free to e-mail us at KanwathoAwards@gmail.com.
Thank you,
Kanwa tho Lodge Recognitions Committee

Nomination Form

The following link will take you to a Google Form for online submissions.